Learn About WIC Requirements

WIC requirements are designed to ensure that Women, Infants and Children in need receive the financial assistance they need for proper nutrition.

The United States Food and Nutrition Service (FNS) oversees the WIC program, with states offering assistance to their residents under that national oversight. There are four general qualification standards for the WIC program that must be met in order to qualify. Families that meet those four could qualify for WIC assistance, but will still need to apply and prove that eligibility.

Meeting the WIC requirements is the first step in qualifying for this particular assistance program. The length of time during which you can receive assistance will be determined according to your financial need, as well as whether or not you qualify for the priority list.

Note that any family may apply for the program as long as at least one family member qualifies according to these eligibility standards.

Discover General WIC Requirements

There are four WIC eligibility requirements that are standard for all applicants nationwide. If any family member qualifies according to these four standards, then the family may apply on that basis. The four standards are explained below.

Only families that meet the categorical, residential, income and nutritional risk requirements are fully qualified for WIC.

Categorical WIC Standards

Women, children and infants can qualify for this assistance program. However, as long as one family member qualifies for WIC, the entire family can apply. Infants are classified as being one year of age or younger. Children are eligible until they turn five years old.

To qualify for WIC, a woman must currently pregnant, postpartum (up to six months after giving birth) or breastfeeding (up to the infant’s first birthday).

Postpartum mothers who want to sign up for WIC should know that the WIC program highly encourages breastfeeding, and women who are breastfeeding will be prioritized over non-breastfeeding, postpartum women.

Residential WIC Requirements

To qualify for WIC, you will have to prove your current residence in order to collect your cash assistance from the nearest state office. While the eligibility standards do not differ state by state, you do need to prove your current state of residence in order to qualify for your state’s administration of the benefits.

WIC Income Standards

The WIC program includes strict income limits for participation. See the next section of this article for details specifically related to this eligibility requirement.

Nutritional Risk Standards

The WIC program determines the estimated nutritional risk of a candidate to determine eligibility for the program. This qualification is discussed more in-depth in the appropriate section below.

Learn About WIC Income Requirements

The WIC program has very specific income limits that it implements to determine eligibility for the program as well as the length of time an applicant might receive assistance. The income limits are updated annually, so it is important to confirm these limits at the time of application to ensure they are valid.

The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) posts these income limits on an annual basis and they are valid nationwide, with the exception of the different income limits posted for Alaska and for Hawaii.

Income requirements for WIC are determined according to the Federal Poverty Level (FPL), which changes each year, as well as your family size. These factors can impact your initial eligibility for the program, as well as the amount of assistance you can receive and the length of time for which you can receive help.

To figure out your WIC income eligibility, you will have to compare your gross annual income to the WIC guidelines for a family of your size. Pregnant women in the family count as two people. Additionally, a family is considered to be anyone who lives in the same home together, sharing responsibilities and meals. There is no legal relationship required, such as a marriage.

WIC applicants who are already receiving benefits from another government program will automatically qualify for WIC based on the income standards. These other programs include SNAP (sometimes called food stamps), Medicaid or TANF.

Some states have additional state-level benefits programs that are considered to be acceptable for automatic qualification in WIC. You will have to confirm with your state agency office for these program details.

Find Out About WIC Nutritional Risk Assessments

Eligibility for the WIC program requires candidates to visit a doctor to determine the nutritional risk involved. This is one of the most important qualifications for the program, so you cannot skip this step. The determination by your doctor for nutritional risk will allow you to receive WIC assistance or not. This evaluation can also impact your priority level, if you are allowed to receive assistance.

When you apply for WIC, you can choose to see a nutritionist or a doctor for free at the agency office location. Alternatively, your own pediatrician or doctor can provide this risk assessment for you. Just be sure to have documentation signed by the doctor to provide with your application for assistance.

Note that, whichever family member is the qualifying family member for WIC, the nutritional risk assessment must be done for that applicant.

The WIC nutritional risk assessment will classify any issues as medical or as diet-related. If your doctor determines that you have any of the conditions that are listed in the WIC manual, then you will qualify based on these eligibility criteria. A diagnosis of being underweight, a history of a difficult pregnancy, or anemia could all be qualifying conditions.

What are WIC priority qualifications?

Priority eligibility for WIC is given to infants and pregnant women who are underweight or who suffer from any other nutrition-related health condition. The priority system ensures that those who need help the most will receive it as quickly as possible.

Your state agency office will determine the priority level of every case, which could be different from how another state would determine priority. These are the small differences permitted within federal the WIC program.

Your priority level for WIC will be set as one of seven, based on the income, age and medical conditions of the applicant or the qualifying family. The top priority will be given to the most severe cases, while a lower priority level might be given to individuals who are not as high risk right now.